Incorporating the Mens & Womens Bowling Associations of the County of Northumberland

Darrian Properties Sponsor Bowls NorthumberlandMAIN SPONSOR



Latest News - Mens

BE Finals


Saturday 18th August


U25 Singles

1st Round: 

Jack Miller (G) 21 Dan Swanson 9 (Oxfordshire)


2nd Round:

Jack Miller 21 Connor Hart 18 (Shefford, Beds)


3rd Round:

Jack Miller 11 Jaxon McKenna 21 (SIlksworth, Durham)




LAST 16: 

Pallas & Train 21 v Griffiths & Middleton (Herefordshire) 12


1/4 Final:

Pallas & Train 18 v Bell & Gallagher 25 (Cumbria) 

Northern Counties 2018 Championships Updated

The Northern Counties 2018 Championships took place at Houghton Dairy Lane on Saturday 11th and Sunday 12th August 2018 and results are shown (under read more).  


The above photo: - from L to R (George Batey, Jeff Wilson (Durham) Northern Counties President, John Harthen).

George collecting the Muras Cup and John collecting the Alsop Trophy.


A report on the finals can be found here


County Finals

The County Finals have started and scores shown below. Details of Sunday's game are shown below: -


Thur 26 July (Gosforth) 6:30pm

Men's U25 Singles -

J Miller (G) v J Minto (G) 21 - 10


Sat 28 July (Alnwick) 2pm

Men's 4's -

G Donkin (RY) v C Yeomans (G) 7 - 28


Sun 29 July (Alnwick) 10am

Mixed Pairs -

M Bennett (G) v S Williams (HS) 22 - 17

Men's Pairs -

G Richardson (PD) v P Ging (BW) 19 - 14


Sun 29 July (Alnwick) 11am

Champion of Champions -

B Tuner (CC) v M Cymber (G) 3 - 21

2 Wood Singles -

D Morrison (G) v S Richardson (G) 11 - 16


Sun 29 July (Alnwick) 2pm

4 Wood Singles -

R Train (G) v R Goldsmith (BW) 21 - 17

Men's Triples -

C Yeomans (G) v L Birch (NB) 16 - 7


Full programme found here




Results - Friday (Gosforth)


Pairs - I Brown & P Ging (BW)

Pairs - C Boyle & G Richardson (PD)

Triples - J Minto, S Richardson, C Yeomans (G)

Triples - W Waters, A Stewart, L Birch (NB)

U18's Final - G Rogan (HW)


Results - Saturday (St. Georges')


Fours - J Minto, L Yeomans, S Richardson, C Yeomans (G)

Fours - M Fairbairn, R Calam, R Donkin, G Donkin (RY)

C of C - B Turner (CC) 

C of C - M Cymber (G)


Results - Sunday (Portland)

Winners: -

2 Wood Singles - D Morrison (G) & S Richardson (G)

Junior Pairs (Final) - J Miller & J Minto (G)

Senior 4's (Final) - C Brown, L Yeomans, W Bolam, J Curtis (G)


Results - Monday (Portland)

Winners: -

4 Wood Singles - R Train (G) & R Goldsmith (BW)

U25 Singles - J Miller (G) & J Minto (G)


I would like to thank all players involved over the 4 days, and all the clubs for hosting throughout - your help and co-operation is very much appreciated (a full report of the semi-finals will be shown tomorrow).


Thank You

John Harthen

BNMS Hon. Comp Sec.

Cup Finals

The next 2018 cup finals will take place next weekend - (as well as the World Cup Final of course).




Firstly the Challenge Cup Final will take place on Saturday 14th July at 10:30am at Alnwick BC. Teams from Gosforth, Gosforth Empire, Backworth Welfare, Crawford Park, Benfield and Hexham Elvaston will be competing. To note lunch is provided.

Dress is Greys (plus club shirts / or white above waist).


The next day will see the Jubilee Cup Final at St. Georges' BC. Teams from Cramlington (A & B), Seaton Sluice and Walker will be taking part.

The final will now start at 10:30am 

(to avoid clash with World Cup Final @ 4pm)

(to note there is no buffet)


Please come along and support both events, if you can - thank you.


John Harthen

BNMS Hon. Comp Sec.

Middleton Cup - Cumbria

The next Middleton Cup group game will be against Cumbria at Wigton BC on Saturday 16th June starting at 2pm.


The following side has been selected: -

P Proctor, S Miller, B Rootham, C Knott;

R Goldsmith, J Morgan, J Minto, D Parkes;

M Bennett, J Miller, J Curtis, S Harvey;

A Johnson Snr, S Welsh, N Aitchison, C Yeomans;

D Morrison, F Short, J King, G Myerscough;

M Cymber, S Pallas, K Bone, P Harvey;

Res: G Donkin  R Donkin


Can all players meet at Benfield for 11am please.


If anyone is not available please contact J Holmes 07375519006 or B Miller 07557414756

Competition Draws 2018

The 2018 Competition Draws are now available. Links to each competition can be found under competitions, then the respective competition, or see links below - 

Singles (4 Wood)




Singles (2 Wood)

Junior Singles

Junior Pairs

Senior Fours

Champion of Champion's

Under 18 Singles

Men's AGM Positions

BNMS AGM took place on Sunday 3rd December, and the following positions were filled: -

President - Jim Holmes (Benfield)

Hon. Secretary - George Batey (Alnwick)

Hon. Asst Secretary - Bob Miller (Alnwick)

Hon. Treasurer - Ray Robson

Hon. League Secretary - Jim Holmes (Benfield)

Hon. Comp Secretary - John Harthen (Gosforth)

GPC Members - Neil Aitchison (St. Georges), Rob Donkin (Rothbury), George Grealy (Tynemouth), Steve Pallas (Gosforth), Keith Rowe (St. Georges), Michael Wilson (Collingwood)

Page 1 of 3

Smart Marketing Group